Sunday, April 28, 2019

Hydroelectric Projects in Kerala

    • Kerala State Electricity Board (KSEB) was established in : 1957 March 31
    • Tag line of KSEB : Keralathinte Urjjam (കേരളത്തിന്റെ ഊർജ്ജം )
    • Software Used by KSEB for billing purpose : OrumaNet
    • The apex body to ensure integrated operation of the power system in Kerala : State Load Dispatch Center
    • India's first tidal power station is at : Vizhinjam (Thiruvananthapuram)
    • Power supply in Thiruvananthapuram District started in 1929 March 8 
    • Expand UJALA : Unnat Jyothi by Affordable LEDs for All
    • UJALA was launched on 1st May 2015 by Narendra Modi
    • First total electrified district in Kerala : Palakkad 
    • The first Gramapanchayat in Kerala to generate electricity : Mankulam
    •  The only Municipal Corpoation in Kerala to distribute electricity : Thrissur (Thrissur Corporation Electricity Department)

    Power Plants in Kerala under KSEB:

    Sl. No Power Plant Number
    1 Hydroelectric Power Plant 30
    2 Thermal Power Plant 2
    3 Wind Farm 1
    4 Solar Power Plant 1

    1. Hydroelectric Power Projects

    • First Hydroelectric Power Project in Kerala : Pallivasal  (1940)
    • The production of Hydroelectric Power was started at Pallivasal in 1910 by the British Company : The Kannan Devan Hill Produce Company 
    • Pallivasal Hydroelectric PowerProject is located in which river : Muthirapuzha 
    • Pallivasal Hydroelectric Project was commissioned in : 1940
    • The district which has the largest number of power station in Kerala : Idukki
    • The biggest hydroelectric power project in Kerala : Idukki 
    • The first arch dam in India : Idukki Dam
    • The Idukki Dam is situated between the hills: Kuravan Mala and Kurathi Mala
    •  The country which helped in the construction of Idukki Hydroelectric Power Project : Canada
    • The commercial power production in Idukki started in : 12th february1976 inaugurated by Indira Gandhi
    • The largest underground Hydroelectric Project in India : Moolamattom
    • Hydroelectric Project undertaken by District Panchayat : Meenvallam, Palakkad
    • Hydroelectric Projects in Kerala under private ownership : Maniyar (Pathanamthitta) and Kuthungal (Palakkad)
    • First private Hydroelectric project in Kerala : Maniyar
    • Largest privet Hydroelectric project in Kerala : Kuthungal

    Sl. No Project Tributary/River District
    1 Adyanpara Kanjirapuzha/Chaliyar River Malapuram
    2 Chebukadavu Stage I Chalipuzha River Kozhikode
    3 Chebukadavu Stage II Chalipuzha River Kozhikode
    4 Chimmony Chimmony/Karuvannur  Thrissur
    5 Idamalyar Idamalayar River Ernakulam
    6 Idukki Periyar River Idukki
    7 Kakkad Moozhiyar, Veluthodu/ Pampa River Pathanamthitta
    8 Kallada Kallada River Kollam
    9 Kuttiyadi Kuttiyadi River Kozhikode
    10 Kuttiyadi Tailrace Kuttiyadi River Kozhikode
    11 Lower Meenmutty Kallar River Thiruvananthapuram
    12 Lower Periyar Periyar River Idukki
    13 Malampuzha Malampuzha River Palakkad
    14 Malankara Muvattupuzha River Idukki
    15 Mattupetty Periyar River Idukki
    16 Neriamangalam Periyar River Ernakulam
    17 Pallivasal Muthirapuzha/Periyar Idukki
    18 Panniar Panniar/Periyar River Idukki
    19 Peechi Manali River Thrissur
    20 Peppara Karamana River Thiruvananthapuram
    21 Poozhithode Illyanipuzha and Kadantharapuzha Kozhikode
    22 Poringalkuthu Chalakudy River Thrissur
    23 Poringalkuthu (left Bank extension) Chalakudy River Thrissur
    24 Ranni Perinad Pamba River Pathanamthitta
    25 Sabarigiri Kakki/Pamba River Pathanamthitta
    26 Sengulam Mudirapuzha River Idukki
    27 Sholayar Sholayar River Thrissur
    28 Urumi Stage I Iruvanchipuzha River Kozhikode
    29 Urumi Stage II Iruvanchipuzha River Kozhikode
    30 Vilangad Kavadi,Vaniyam/Mahe River Kozhikode

    2. Thermal Power Projects

    • First Thermal Power Plan in Kerala : Bramapuram Diesel Power Plant
    • Second Thermal Power Plant in Kerala : Nallalam
    • Thermal Power PLant at Kayamkulam is known as : Rajiv Gandhi Combained Cycle Power Plant
    • Rajiv Gandhi Combained Cycle Power PLant is owned by : National Thermal Power Corporation Ltd (NTPC)
    • Kayamkulam Power Plant was inaugurated by : Atal Bihari Vajpayee
    • Diesel Power Plants in Kerala: Brahmapuram and Nallalam
    • Power Plants that uses Natural Gas as fuesl in Kerala : Cheemeni and Vypin
    • Thermal Power Plants owned by KSEB : Brahmapuram and Nallalam
    • Vypin Thermal Power Plant is owned by Bombay Suburban Electricity Supply (BSES) Kerala Power Ltd
    • Cheemeni Thermal Plant is controlled by KSEB and KSIDC (Kerala State Industrial Development COrporation)

    Sl. No Project District Fuel
    1 Brahmapuram Ernakulam Diesel
    2 Cheemeni Kasargod Natural Gas
    3 Kayamkulam Alapuzha Naphtha
    4 Nallalam Kozhikode Diesel
    5 Vypin Ernakulam Natural Gas

    3. Wind Power Plant

    • First Wind Power Plant in Kerala : Kanjikode Wind Farm (Operated by KSEB)
    • Wind Farms operated by Private Sector in Kerala : Ramakalmedu (Idukki), Agali (Palakkad) and Attapadi (Palakkad)

    4. Solar Power Plant

    • Biggest floating Solar Plant in India is at : Kayamkulam operated by NTPC
    • KSEB launches first Solar Plant at : Kanjikode (Pa;akkad)
    • Other Solar Power Plants in Kerala : Kasargod Solar Power Park, Cochin International Airport (Nedumbassery) and Edayar (Ernakulam)

    1 comment:

    1. It is really a great work and the way in which you are sharing the knowledge is excellent.Thanks for your informative article
      Blockchain Technology